Prey catching

On catching prey

We’re going fishing. In the mountain lake live two tasty fish species of the same population. We have two baits at our disposal. An experienced fisherman says that with the older bait we will catch one species – the other one doesn’t bite so good. With the new bait both species bite equally well. Your colleague wants to fish with the old bait, because he has often used it successfully – he’s betting on proven methods. But you are smarter: you have calculated that you will catch more fish if you use a bait that bites both varieties equally well. You have twice as much prey. You are the hero of the troops.

Change of scene: There are two kinds of people on the planet – male and female. Their mental power is comparably good, their intelligence is similarly unevenly distributed on both sides. In social behaviour in groups, however, the female shows a more effective leadership behaviour. The difference, however, is marginal. Companies also fish people: For top management jobs, they have used bait so far, 85 percent of which bite at little men. The good women hardly bite, but the less good men all the better. In the meantime, the total population of the workforce is declining. The companies are courting the fewer and fewer managers. Some with the supposedly proven baits, in which only half of the people are interested – the smarter ones, however, use new baits, in which all talents bite. Who simply has more good people in the company at the end of the day? Exactly: The smarter ones, because they have twice as much prey.

What do you want the bait to look like?

It means the effect of speech and images in communication as well as the decision architecture in the process. A fish that does not like a worm does not bite the worm. If a job advertisement smells too strongly of testosterone culture, the woman loses her desire for a career. And a fisherman who has caught lots of little men so far doesn’t even know what to do when he has a good woman on the hook. He may tackle it so clumsily that it escapes him injured. So the fisherman will have to learn to fish differently with new lures if he wants to be superior in the long run with twice as much prey.

Column by Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO of GetDiversity in the Handelszeitung of 29. August 2019.

Categories:

Auf Beutefang

Wir gehen fischen. Im Bergsee leben zwei schmackhafte Fischsorten von gleich grosser Population. Wir haben zwei Köder zur Verfügung. Ein erfahrener Fischer sagt, dass wir mit dem älteren Köder vor allem die eine Sorte fangen werden – die andere beisst da nicht so gut an. Beim neuen Köder beissen beide Arten gleich gut. Ihr Kollege will mit dem alten Köder fischen, weil er den schon oft mit Erfolg benutzt hat – er setzt auf Bewährtes. Aber Sie sind schlauer: Sie haben nachgerechnet, dass Sie mehr Fische fangen, wenn Sie einen Köder benutzen, bei dem beide Sorten gleich gut anbeissen. Sie haben doppelt so viel Beute. Sie sind der Held der Truppe.

Szenenwechsel: Es leben zwei Sorten Menschen auf dem Planeten – Männlein und Weiblein. Diese sind von ihrer Geisteskraft her vergleichbar gut veranlagt, die Intelligenz ist auf beiden Seiten ähnlich ungleichmässig verteilt. Beim Sozialverhalten in Gruppen zeigen die Weiblein aber ein wirksameres Führungsverhalten. Der Unterschied ist jedoch marginal. Auch Firmen fischen Menschen: Für Topführungsjobs nutzten sie bislang Köder, bei denen zu 85 Prozent Männlein anbeissen. Die guten Weiblein beissen kaum an, dafür die weniger guten Männlein umso besser. Inzwischen geht die Gesamtpopulation der Arbeitskräfte zurück. Die Firmen buhlen um die weniger werdenden Führungskräfte. Die einen mit den vermeintlich bewährten Ködern, an denen nur die eine Hälfte der Menschen Interesse hat – die Schlaueren allerdings nutzen neue Köder, bei denen alle Talente anbeissen. Wer hat am Schluss einfach mehr gute Leute im Betrieb? Genau: Die Schlaueren, denn sie haben doppelt so viel Beute.

Wie soll der Köder aussehen?

Er heisst Sprach- und Bildwirkung in der Kommunikation sowie die Entscheidungsarchitektur im Prozess. Ein Fisch, der keinen Wurm mag, beisst beim Wurm nicht an. Wenn eine Stellenausschreibung zu stark nach Testosteronkultur riecht, vergeht den Weiblein die Lust auf Karriere. Und ein Fischer, der bisher lauter Männlein gefangen hat, weiss gar nicht, was anfangen, wenn er mal ein gutes Weiblein am Haken hat. Er packt es womöglich so ungeschickt an, dass dieses ihm verletzt entwischt. Der Fischer wird also mit neuen Ködern anders fischen lernen müssen, wenn er längerfristig überlegen sein will mit doppelt so viel Beute.

Kolumne von Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO von GetDiversity in der Handelszeitung vom 29. August 2019.

Kategorien: