Attention

Till they crash

Some seek it, some avoid it. Everyone has it and gives it away to people, media and occupations, consciously and unconsciously: attention. We usually don’t think where we turn our eyes, ears and thoughts. This is particularly useful for those who need the attention of others as a source of energy for their own prosperity. And what do we do? Generously and thoughtlessly we give our attention to those who perform the most striking courtship display.

There is the tall, blonde, blue-eyed German, who is raging against migration in her own country and lives together with a woman with an obvious migration background in Switzerland and strains our tolerance. There is the media-powerful, eloquent Swiss intellectual who incited his people against a wave of refugees on the distant Mediterranean and married a woman who found her way into our country thanks to sea rescue and humane reception. The private and the political remain clearly separated, one has nothing to do with the other, right?

 

“instincts and emotions are stronger than thoughts”

 

Now, don’t you think of integrity and values. Nor with the platinum blonde Jack Nicholson type in England, the Brazilian great pyromaniac, the Russian Rambo, the Frenchwoman, who reunites the national and social, our neighbour – dream of all mothers-in-law and many others for whom world politics seem to function like the plot of a telenovela. They all know: instincts and emotions are stronger than thoughts. The less people consciously use their brains, the more they follow empty hocus-pocus. Because thinking is exhausting and people are lazy by nature.

The Romans called this bread and games and thus cemented the power elite. The games take place today on Twitter and TV channels. Divide and ruleMachiavelli already advised it – because conflicts increase tension and thus the entertainment value of the events. They distract from the vital things that are not so easy to solve. Until they crash.

Column by Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO of GetDiversity in the «Handelszeitung» of 19 September 2019.

Irony from the story: the foreign advertiser who introduced the black sheep into the Swiss political poster landscape had to defend his family against the bullying of his adopted children with an obvious migration background…. Yes, the spirits you called are striking back… Thanks to the storyteller who offered this pinch of salt yesterday.

Categories:

Bis es knallt

Manche suchen sie, manche meiden sie. Jeder hat sie und verschenkt sie täglich an Menschen, Medien und Beschäftigungen, bewusst und unbewusst: die Aufmerksamkeit. Wir denken uns meist nichts dabei, wenn es darum geht, wohin wir unsere Augen, Ohren und Gedanken wenden. Das machen sich vor allem jene zunutze, die die Aufmerksamkeit anderer als Energiequelle für ihr eigenes Gedeihen brauchen. Und was tun wir? Grosszügig und unbedacht verschenken wir unsere Aufmerksamkeit denen, die am auffälligsten balzen.

Da ist die hochgewachsene, blonde, blauäugige Deutsche, die im eigenen Land gegen Migration wettert und selbst mit einer Frau mit offensichtlichem Migrationshintergrund in der Schweiz zusammenlebt und unsere Toleranz strapaziert. Da ist der medienmächtige, wortgewaltige Schweizer Intellektuelle, der sein Volk gegen eine Flüchtlingswelle auf dem fernen Mittelmeer aufwiegelt und selbst eine Frau geheiratet hat, die dank Seenotrettung und humaner Aufnahme den Weg in unser Land fand. Privates und Politisches bleiben bei jenen klar getrennt, das eine hat doch mit dem anderen nichts zu tun, oder?

 

“Triebe und Emotionen sind stärker als Gedanken”

 

Denken Sie jetzt bloss nicht über Integrität und Werte nach. Auch nicht beim platinblonden Jack-Nicholson-Typ in England, dem brasilianischen Grosspyromanen, dem russischen Rambo, der Französin, die Nationales und Soziales wiedervereint, dem nachbarschaftlichen Traum aller Schwiegermütter und vielen anderen mehr, für die die Weltpolitik wie der Plot einer Telenovela zu funktionieren scheint. Sie alle wissen: Triebe und Emotionen sind stärker als Gedanken. Je weniger der Mensch sein Hirn bewusst nutzt, desto eher folgt er inhaltsleerem Hokuspokus. Denn Denken ist anstrengend und der Mensch ist faul.

Brot und Spiele nannten das die Römer und zementierten so die Machtelite. Die Spiele finden heute auf Twitter und TV-Kanälen statt. Teile und Herrsche – das riet schon Machiavelli -, weil Konflikte die Spannung steigern und damit den Unterhaltungswert des Geschehens. Sie lenken ab von den überlebenswichtigen Dingen, die nicht so leicht zu lösen sind. Bis es knallt.

Kolumne von Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO von GetDiversity in der Handelszeitung vom 19. September 2019.

Ironie von der Geschicht: der ausländische Werber, der die schwarzen Schafe in die Schweizer PolitPlakatLandschaft eingeführt hatte, musste sich gegen das Mobbing seiner adoptierten Kinder mit offensichtlichem Migrationshintergrund wehren…. Ja, die Geister, die Du riefst… Danke dem Geschichtenerzähler, der mir gestern diese Prise Salz noch zutrug.

Kategorien: