Femme

Cherchez la Femme

We don’t know this woman. A recruiter is looking for her to publish a portrait: Mother, reentrant, part-time, worked up, with budget and management responsibility, member of the board of directors, preferably president. Without nanny help and none who owns the company. As an heiress, compatibility is very easy. The woman should work for equal pay and compatibility in the company. childcare places, wage transparency, equal opportunities after re-entry, part-time offers.

He wanted to portray a role model, how a woman as a re-entrant comes to the top. But he only knew established women leaders who were always employed along with their children, many of them full-time, but that couldn’t be it, could it? He wanted to show his SME target group how baby leave and part-time work can work. But not an entrepreneur’s wife. And not an entrepreneur either – they are not “in the wind”. One who has made it as an independent, external board member without costly daily structures for the children – that’s only for the rich. An ordinary normal case, after all.

We know thousands of stories about how it works, but we’ve never met this before.

Could it also be another success story? One without a baby break for example or with Nanny or with full time or as a family successor? No. He wants to show the decision-makers that women should be given a chance after the baby break, that it can be worthwhile to take one even with only 60 percent. He wants to help promote women. So far, so laudable.

Reality works differently, but the good man didn’t want to know anything about it. Nor from the fact that, as a society with a lack of specialists and managers, we need other role models than highly educated, qualified women with a gap in employment and experience over many years, who want to return to part-time work and naively claim equal opportunities and equal pay. He was not interested in more tried and tested models. He simply had a romantic understanding of the family. Responsibility as a publicist? No, not at all. This is why one cannot find a suitable woman if one looks for a fixed idea that is out of touch with reality.

Column by Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO of GetDiversity in the Handelszeitung of 15 August 2019.

Categories:

Femme

Cherchez la Femme

Diese Frau kennen wir nicht. Ein Personalvermittler sucht sie, um ein Porträt zu publizieren: Mutter, Wiedereinsteigerin, in Teilzeit hochgearbeitet, mit Budget- und Führungsverantwortung, Verwaltungsratsmandat, möglichst Präsidentin. Ohne Nanny-Hilfe und keine, der die Firma gehört. Als Erbin sei ja Vereinbarkeit ganz leicht. Die Frau soll sich im Unternehmen für Lohngleichheit und Vereinbarkeit einsetzen. Krippenplätze, Lohntransparenz, Chancengleichheit nach dem Wiedereinstieg, Teilzeitangebote.

Er wolle ein Rollenvorbild porträtieren, wie frau als Wiedereinsteigerin ganz nach oben kommt. Er kenne aber nur arrivierte Führungsfrauen, die mit den Kindern immer erwerbstätig waren, viele in Vollzeit, aber das könne es doch wohl nicht sein, oder? Er wolle seiner KMU-Zielgruppe zeigen, wie es auch mit Babypause und in Teilzeit geht. Aber keine Unternehmerehefrau. Und auch keine Unternehmerin – die stehen nicht «voll im Wind». Eine, die es als unabhängige, externe Verwaltungsrätin geschafft hat, ohne kostspielige Tagesstrukturen für die Kinder – das sei ja nur was für Reiche. Ein gewöhnlicher Normalfall, halt.

Wir kennen Tausende Geschichten, wie es funktioniert, aber genau diese ist uns noch nie begegnet.

Ob es auch eine andere Erfolgsgeschichte sein dürfe? Eine ohne Babypause zum Beispiel oder mit Nanny oder mit Vollzeit oder als Familiennachfolge? Nein. Er wolle den Entscheidungsträgern aufzeigen, dass man den Frauen nach der Babypause eine Chance geben soll, dass es sich lohnen kann, eine auch nur mit 60 Prozent aufzunehmen. Er wolle die Frauen fördern helfen. So weit, so löblich.

Die Realität funktioniert jedoch anders, aber davon wollte der gute Mann nichts wissen. Auch nicht davon, dass wir als Gesellschaft mit Fach- und Führungskräftemangel andere Rollenvorbilder brauchen als hochgebildete, qualifizierte Frauen mit jahrelanger Erwerbs- und Erfahrungslücke, Wiedereinstieg in Teilzeit und dem naiven Anspruch auf Chancen- und Lohngleichheit. Bewährtere Modelle interessierten ihn nicht. Er habe halt ein romantisches Familienverständnis. Verantwortung als Publizist? Fehlanzeige. So kommt es, dass man keine geeignete Frau findet, wenn man mit einer fixen Idee realitätsfremd sucht.

Kolumne von Esther-Mirjam de Boer, CEO von GetDiversity in der Handelszeitung vom 15. August 2019.

Kategorien: