Publications

Why school holidays?

I don’t mind the evil eyes as a response to that question.  Give it a thought, please. What do we as a society cause with all those school holidays? 5 weeks of summer holidays – 7 weeks at school – 2 weeks autumn holidays – 9 weeks school – 2 weeks Christmas holidays – 5 […]

childhood

well supported – double win

Due to recent events – my column from June 1, 2017 reloaded. In May 2017 the first ambassadors’ meeting of the initiative “Ready! Early childhood is crucial.” took place. It has been set up by the Jacobs Foundation, supported by committed individuals from politics, business and society. The goal is to improve the conditions in […]

Wanted: undervalued shares

Women as yield killers? I found this headline in a business newsletter. It came along with a picture of a crying blonde. The content was about an Insead study which states that share prices fall as soon as a woman is appointed to the non executive board. Pardon me? She hasn’t done anything for the […]

Diversity made easy

Small changes – big effect. How to easily get diversity. Summary from the scientific study “Leaning In or Not Leaning Out? Opt-Out Choice Framing Attenuates Gender Differences in the Decision to Compete” can be found at: https://www.nber.org/papers/w26484 In most companies, promotions require initiative and that candidates prove themselves in the competition among the applicants. However, […]

Welfare

The bolder, the dumber

A recession is approaching say some powerful fortune tellers in the media. What is to be done? “Buying gold” tells someone who was exorbitantly successful, but limited his toolbox only to the financial sector. Anyone who still believes today that such one-size-fits-all approach can solve future complexities – well, we will see whether it was […]

Christian Democratic People's Party of Switzerland (CVP)

Built on sand

There’s 350 million at stake. That sounds like a lot of money. The Christian Democratic People’s Party of Switzerland (CVP) wants to reduce the tax burden on families with children with a higher federal tax deduction. This leaves a four-person household with a maximum of an additional 910 francs per year – starting from CHF […]

Publikationen

Wozu Schulferien?

Wozu Schulferien?

Mit dieser Fra­ge ernte ich böse Blicke. Doch was tun wir uns als Gesellschaft mit den vielen Schulferien an? 5 Wochen Sommerferien – 7 Wochen Schule – 2 Wochen Herbstferien – 9 Wochen Schule – 2 Wo­chen Weihnachtsferien – 5 Wochen Schu­le – 2 Wochen Sportferien – 6,5 Wochen Schule – 2,5 Wochen Frühlingsferien – […]

Kindheit

gut gefördert – doppelt gewonnen

Aus aktuellem Anlass – meine Kolumne vom 1. Juni 2017 reloaded. Im Mai 2017 war das erste Botschaftertreffen der Kampagne «Ready! Frühe Kindheit ist entscheidend.» – eine Initiative der Jacobs Foundation, getragen von Engagierten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Das Ziel: die Verbesserung der Rahmenbedingungen in der frühen Kindheit. Wenn Sie nun an Mozart oder Tiger-Mamas denken, […]

Gesucht: Aktien unter Wert

Renditekiller Frau? Diese Schlagzeile fand ich in einem Wirtschafts-Newsletter. Das Bild zum Text: eine heulende Blondine. Der Inhalt: eine Insead-Studie, die feststellt, dass Aktienkurse sinken, sobald eine Frau in den Verwaltungsrat berufen wird. Wie bitte? Sie hat im Unternehmen noch rein gar nichts bewirken können, und schon wird sie schuldig gesprochen für sinkende Kurse. Nur weil sie […]

Vielfalt leicht gemacht

Kleine Veränderungen – grosse Wirkung. Wie die Durchmischung in Unternehmen von selbst steigt. Zusammenzug aus der wissenschaftlichen Studie „Leaning In or Not Leaning Out? Opt-Out Choice Framing Attenuates Gender Differences in the Decision to Compete“ abrufbar unter: https://www.nber.org/papers/w26484 In den meisten Unternehmen erfordern Beförderungen Eigeninitiative und den Wettbewerb unter den Bewerbern. Untersuchungen zu geschlechtsspezifischen Unterschieden bei den […]

Wohlfahrt

Je dreister, desto dümmer

Eine Rezession sei im Anflug, das pfeifen wirkmächtige Spatzen von den Dächern. Was ist zu tun? «Gold kaufen» meint einer, der zwar exorbitant erfolgreich war, aber seinen Werkzeugkasten nur auf die Finanzwirtschaft beschränkt. Wer heute noch meint, mit solchen One-size-fits-all- Ansätzen zukünftige Komplexitäten lösen zu können – na ja, wir werden erleben, ob es klug war und der […]

CVP

Auf Sand gebaut

Es stehen 350 Millionen auf dem Spiel. Das klingt nach viel Geld. Die CVP will mit einem höheren Steuerabzug bei der Bundessteuer Familien mit Kindern entlasten. Damit bleiben einem vierköpfigen Haushalt maximal 910 Franken pro Jahr mehr – ab 200 000 Jahreslohn eines Alleinernährers und ab 300 000 Bruttoeinkommen, wenn beide Eltern erwerbstätig sind. Das sei keine Familienvorlage, […]